Week 46 – Spanish – Oven-baked Beef Empanadas

So I had to 3 goals this weekend.
1) Sleep in (I did!)
2) Get a little video game time in (yep!)
3) Make empanadas (check!)

These little guys take a lot more time to make than I thought!  I even did a lot of the prep work during the day.  But the dough and assembling took most of my time.  In the morning, I put together a cilantro pebre, so it would have the day to marinate.

I was a little wary of this cause of my dislike for raw green onion and cilantro (not all the time, in certain things I like them), and this was pretty much two items, but I was wrong! This was fantastic! I really really like it and I think it was the perfect addition.

  • 1 bunch cilantro, chopped
  • 1 bunch green onion (including green tops), chopped
  • 2 green chiles, chopped
  • 1-2 tablespoons white vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons of oil
  • salt and pepper
  • splash or so of water to make some juice

Chop it all up and mix together.

Then I made the beef filling, so it was have time to cool.


Ground Beef, Onion, Oil, Cumin, Paprika, Salt, Pepper

Then assemble!


Beef filling, with a wedge of a hard boiled egg and 3 black olive slices.

So I think I messed up the dough, I am not good with dough.  I think I’ve done it well like once out of 6 different times now.  I think it’s suppose to be a little flaky…mine was not.  Oh well, it was still delicious! =)

Leave a Reply

