Week 42 – Meal Under $10 – Pork Chops

Well hello!  Sorry it’s been so long, but I have been quite busy!

So having just moved (along with closing on a house!), I thought a under $10 meal was appropriate for me as I will be trying to save some money for a while.  Of course that doesn’t mean just eating ramen noodles every night either!  On the way home tonight, I stopped by Publix to see what was on sale and what I could put together.  Pork chops and some beef broth were on sale, and I paired it with some kale (which isn’t terribly expensive).  Now I’m not counting the things I already had on hand, otherwise that would be a bit difficult.

Fairly straight forward, seasoned with salt, garlic powder, and rosemary.  I fried it up in some butter/oil for about 5 minutes on each side.  Then I removed it and let it sit while I cooked the kale.

Before dropping in the kale, I deglazed the pan with some beef broth and balsamic vinegar (so this may not be as common, and so you could sub in some apple juice or even apple cider vinegar) and let it reduce down a bit.  Then I just put in the kale for a few seconds to wilt down and soak up the liquid.

Pork Chops (2 in a pack) – $5.74
Kale – $2.99 (Could have gone with the spinach on sale, but I also wanted something with a bit more crunch in it)
Beef Broth – $0.60

Total: $9.33

Leave a Reply

