2013 Week 36 – Fried Food – Chicken Parm

I’ll go back to week 35 at some point, I promise!  I’ve just gone through a lot of family recipes already and don’t want to repeat one, so I gotta find one to do for this blog.

Ah chicken parm…apparently something everyone should have in their arsenal of cooking recipes.  Not too difficult for a delicious meal!

I suppose I could just Google it, but then I wouldn’t have a little banter here.  Why do they call it chicken parm, most of the cheese on top is mozzarella.  There is Parmesan cheese in there, but not that much.

The Sauce:
  • 1/2 large yellow onion
  • olive oil
  • 2 medium garlic cloves, peeled and minced
  • 1 can (28 oz) crushed tomatoes (I also added a can of chopped tomatoes, drained, but i was cooking for 6)
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 bunch fresh basil leaves
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1/2 cup kalamata olives, pitted (This was new to me, and I’m not the biggest olive fan, but I’ve recently enjoyed some in cooking.  So I gave this a shot!)
  • Pinch of red pepper flakes
  • Pinch of sugar
  • Saute the onions and garlic in the olive oil in a pan until soft.
  • Add the kalamata olives
  • Add the tomatoes
  • Add the red pepper, sugar, and other seasonings (and I added a bit of salt and pepper)
  • I let it simmer for an hour as I prepped everything else, but it gets pretty thick, if you want it thinner, don’t let it simmer so long or keep some of the tomato water.

The Chicken (and eggplant): (Preheat that oven to 400)

  • 4 chicken breast cutlets (1 1/4 to 1 1/2 pounds total)
  • Salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup breadcrumbs
  • 1 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
  • 2 Tbsp fresh basil leaves, thinly sliced
  • 8 ounces mozzarella cheese, sliced
  • Get a pan ready to fry the chicken in, I poured enough oil to create about 1/4 in thick or so since you’ll be frying on both sides.
  • Pound the chicken flat (to about 1/2 inch thick)
  • Salt the chicken a bit
  • Dip the chicken in the egg and then the breadcrumbs
  • Fry for about 4 minutes each side
  • Take out and place on a paper towel plate
Combine!
  • Layer a sauce on the bottom of your pan (I used a 9×13 Pyrex)
  • Place the chickens in there (I got 5 pieces in)
  • Sprinkle the chopped basil on top, then some of the shredded Parmesan cheese
  • Then place a slice of Mozzarella cheese on top
  • Bake for 15 minutes at 400 degrees (or until that cheese is bubbly and lightly brown)

I made some garlic bread by roasting some garlic and then mixing it with some butter and then spreading that all over the bread.  Toasted that…yum!  The asparagus was just chopped up, boiled real quick and then drained and tossed with some salt, pepper, and lemon juice while the asparagus and pan are still hot.

Bonus, eggplant!

Basically the same method.  I would say fry the eggplant for a shorter time, 2 minutes or so on each side.  My first 2 squares came out a little burnt at 4 minutes.

Leave a Reply

