2013 Week 29 – Southern/Soul Food – BBQ Pork, Collard Greens, and Cornbread

In the spirit of a “family meal,” I decided to do the Southern theme for one of my Thursday night supper club dinners.


We don’t have a dining room or a dinner table =p

Since I’ve been quite busy recently at work, making a dinner for 8 people would have been a lot of work, so I decided to try something I read ab0ut a while back ago, root beer, crock pot pulled pork.  Then some simple collard greens and cornbread for some sides.

I had some draft root beer (from Abita) on hand so it worked out perfectly (though I was planning on drinking it rather than cook with it).  So I dry rubbed the pork shoulder the night before and then the morning of, I placed it in a crock-pot and poured in root beer and some apple cider vinegar. This cooked pretty much all day.  Always love coming home to a delicious smelling home.

When I got home from work, I shredded it, added in some BBQ sauce and stock and let it cook for another hour or so.

Then I made some vegetarian friendly collard greens while the pork was back in the crock pot.  No ham hock or bacon, I know, but it was still delicious.  Sauteed some onions and garlic, then covered it in veggie stock for 40 minutes.  Added the tomatoes right at the end.

I had a lot of the corn meal left over from the fried green tomatoes a few weeks ago so I’ve been on this cornbread kick from scratch so I can use it all up.  Simple enough, as I had all the ingredients on hand from the back of the container.

Alrighty, good night y’all!

Leave a Reply

