2013 Week 19 – Steaming – Pork Buns Two Ways

For steaming, I wanted to try something I haven’t done before, especially from scratch.  Another one of those dishes from my childhood, steamed pork buns!  I lack a bamboo steamer, so I had a friend bring hers, who also helped me make these.  Thanks Elise!

I decided on trying to make two different versions, a bbq pork bun (the top) and a (regular?) steamed pork bun (the bottom one).  I’m not sure what to call my childhood pork buns, I’ve always just called them steamed pork buns.  The filling is pretty close to a dumpling’s.


Filling 1: pork tenderloin, five-spice powder, green onions, hoisin sauce, rice vinegar, soy sauce, honey, ginger, garlic, salt.

As the dough was rising, I seasoned and cooked up the pork loin.  Then chopped it up and mixed it with everything else.


Filling 2: ground pork, shitake mushrooms, garlic, soy sauce, green onions, white pepper, sesame oil.

Don’t over stuff the second filling ones, you don’t want them too big so they won’t cook all the way through.

Presteamed buns.  We tried two different methods.  The bbq ones were bigger and we put them seam side down.  The other ones were smaller, and we tried to twist them up all fancy.  You’ll see in a second that they don’t all hold.

How beautiful and delicious!

As you can see, some “flowered” open.  No explosions at least!

Let them cool for a sec, so you don’t burn your mouth!  Get a little soy sauce for dipping and enjoy!

One thought on “2013 Week 19 – Steaming – Pork Buns Two Ways

Leave a Reply

