2013 Week 17 – Seafood – Drunken Mussels and Clams

Mmmmm seafood!  I love it.  Lobsters, clams, crabs, fish, shrimp, scallops, the list could go on and on.  This week, I wanted to try something, that I thought would be tricky, but ended up being fairly easy.  There’s just some prep work ahead of time, which is really just cleaning the shellfish.

I went out and got the mussels and clams the same day I was going to use them.  I didn’t want to let them sit in the fridge for a night.

Sorting them out and removing the dead ones.  These are the ones that are open and don’t stay closed if you push them shut.  Then I cleaned the outside and pulled out the mussels’ beards.  Did you know they had beards? Me neither!  They’re just some strands of hair, you just pull them right out (ouch!).

I also got a loaf of rustic Italian bread to toast up.  Drizzled some olive oil on it and some black pepper and then toasted it at 500 for about 4-5 minutes.

When I was ready to eat, I melted some butter and olive oil.  Sauteed the garlic and shallots and added some salt.  Then threw in about 1.5 cups of white wine for the 3 pounds of shellfish.  Let that simmer for about a minute and then tossed in the clams and mussels and cap the pot.  I put the bread in the oven at the same time.  Then every minute and a half, I would toss the shellfish around to get them evenly heated up.  When they were all open, I tossed in some chopped parsley and red pepper flakes.  Then squeezed in half a lemon.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

