2013 Week 11 – Irish – Shepherds Pie

I know! Back to back posts!  Well, I’m off on a little vacation this week and won’t be back til next Monday, so you guys get a treat!

So as I learned after doing some reading, I actually made a cottage pie, since I used beef instead of lamb.  But in all fairness, it was raining, and I didn’t want to drive through 1+ hour of traffic (if you know Atlanta traffic, you know that rain makes it like 10 times worse) to get some lamb, so I think the beef was just as good!

Fairly simple to make, just requires you to put a few things together.  I made the mash potatoes from scratch, then assembled the filling, and topped it all off with some cheddar cheese I had on hand.


I cubed up 2 russet potatoes and had them boiling away (bout 20 minutes) while I was prepping everything else.  When they were ready to be mashed, I just added some salt, pepper, butter, and milk.


Filling: ground beef (use lamb if you want the shepherd’s version), onions, garlic, peas, carrots, some broth (I used beef), tomato paste, a bit of flour, salt, pepper, thyme, rosemary, and a splash of Worcestershire sauce.


Fills a 9×13 perfectly.  Baked at 400 for 30 minutes, I took it out half way to add the shredded cheese on top.

Now time for some vaca! Til next week!

Leave a Reply

