2013 Week 2 – Mint – Mint Nutella Chunk Cookies

I don’t know if I like the fact I used mint twice in the title, but I didn’t want to break my pattern.

As I was thinking of something to make with mint, I naturally thought of lamb.  I had planned it all out but then ran out of time this week to follow through with it.  With a bit more time this weekend, I decided to change up my original plan.  Surfing the net a bit, I stumbled upon this recipe for Nutella chip cookies!  I went with the other suggestion and did it chunk style.

How am I using mint you ask?  Well, I infused the mint into the butter used in both the Nutella chunk creation and in the cookie batter.

I tried a piece of the Nutella after it was frozen and I thought it turned out fantastic!  You get the hazelnut/cocoa flavor first, then as that starts to fade, you get the mint.

Then as they were baking, as soon as I took them out, you could smell just a hint of that mint.  As for the cookie themselves, the same as the Nutella chunks.  They taste like a sugar-Nutella cookie, then the hint of mint kinda creeps up on you and if you didn’t know, you would think…there’s something different about this cookie.

And if you’re wondering, I already forgot the drink pairing.  But I did think of one, and what goes best with cookies…milk! Or in this case, a nice white Russian.

Leave a Reply

