Week 38 – Homemade Pasta

Phew, let me just say, this was a lot more work that I thought.  Sure I didn’t have much space to work with, lacked a pasta roller machine thingy or even a rolling pin, or a food processor to blend up the spinach a little more, but that didn’t stop me!

I went with a spinach tagliatelle (though probably cut way too thick) and a short rib ragu.

So this was my first time making pasta from scratch, and I didn’t think it would be so bad, but I think lacking at least a rolling pin made this much more complicated then it needed to be.  If you’re wondering, I cleaned and used a wine bottle.  It did the trick in a pinch.  You would think for the first time, I would just keep it simple…but nooooo, I wanted to add spinach to make it green (and a little tastier).  Well, it worked, but I think it could have been done better.  Lesson learned for next time!


The ever popular well in the flour with eggs, salt, olive oil, and spinach.


Doughed up.

That’s the ragu sauce simmering away, after basically cooking all day.  It was fantastic!

2 thoughts on “Week 38 – Homemade Pasta

  1. I make pasta all the time and cannot imagine doing it without a rolling pin! FYI, the spinach likely added a lot of moisture which can make the dough harder to work with. From your photos, it seems like you might have had too much. But as long as it tasted good, that’s all that matters! But I imagine it was trick working with that dough! Good job!

    1. Haha, yes, it was quite the effort to roll out the dough without a rolling pin at least! I pretty much made the bare minimum and stopped, I was tired after that.
      Thanks for the tip! I’ll remember that the next time I give this a shot!

Leave a Reply

