Week 35 – Marinating

Taking a little inspiration from a local restaurant here, I decided to do a jerk marinade. I prepared a jerk chicken and veggies with brown rice and pineapples (thanks Beth!).

Since marinating takes some time, I prepped the marinade the night before. No bottled marinades for me here!

Blended all that together with some spices added after I got it going, then into the bag with the chicken quarters.

The veggies got marinating the next day an hour before I started cooking everything.

I just baked the chicken in the oven for some time while I prepped everything else. I did save some of the marinade to baste on the chicken halfway through.

Marinade

  • 5 scallions
  • 5 sprigs of thyme
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1 Tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 tsp ground allspice
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/3 C soy sauce
  • 2 Tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 Tbsp cider vinegar
  • 1 onion
  • 1/2 C orange juice
  • 3 limes, juiced
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 tsp grated ginger
  • 2 scotch bonnet peppers
Leave a Reply

