Week 32 – Corn

I’m sure you’re getting tired of hearing this, but I love corn!  So good, you can eat it straight off the cob!

This week, I was feeling fairly creative but I wanted to keep it simple.  I ended preparing corn 3 different ways for 3 different courses.  (4 ways if you count the corn tortilla chips, but I didn’t really make those =p)

Appetizer: Corn and Crab Dip w/ Corn Tortilla Chips – Corn Kernels


Sauteed some corn and lump crab and then mixed it up with Parmesan and cream cheese.

Main Course: Corn Off-the-Cob Salad w/ Butter Garlic Tilapia – Roasted Corn


I roasted the corn straight in the husk.

Dessert: Chocolate/Peanut Butter Covered Popcorn! – Popped I guess


Melted chocolate chips and peanut butter together and mixed it up with some popcorn.

I had a lot of fun coming up with the dishes for this theme.

Dip

  • 1 cup Lump Crab
  • 1 cup Corn Kernels
  • 8 oz. Cream Cheese
  • I added some of the roasted onions I had made for the salad below.
  • tossed in some Parmesan Cheese
  • some Old Bay
  1. Saute the corn, crab and some Old Bay.
  2. Mix everything together.
  3. Bake at 350 for 30 minutes or so.

Main Course

  • 1-2 Corn on the Cob
  • 1.5 cups of chopped Tomato
  • 1 Avocado
  • chopped roasted onion
  • 1 Lime
  1. Roasted corn in husk at 350 for 30 minutes.  I roasted the onion here too at the same time, then let it sit longer as I took the corn out and prepped everything else.
  2. Mix everything together.
  3. Juice lime over it all and mix again.

Dessert – I basically followed this recipe but toned it down a little cause I just used a bag of popcorn.  And really only sprinkled some powdered sugar on top.

Leave a Reply

