Week 31 – Broiling

Steaks! Yum! Haha, so I finally broke down and did steaks for a theme.  I have nothing against steaks, I LOVE me a rib-eye steak,  but I wanted to try new things for the most part on each theme, and I’ve made steaks before.  Plus a good steak is really simple, all you really need is some salt and pepper.

So for this theme, I was wondering what I could do, and a chef I was talking to suggested a butter and herb, breadcrumb crusted steak.  I was sold at butter.

I decided to make a twice cooked potato and some peas to go along with this.  I also broiled the potato at the end with the steak, to crisp up the top.

The crust adds a whole new dimension of flavors, but still keeping the steak as the center of focus.  I thought it was delicious!

Here is the topping all flattened out.

1 Tbsp + 1C butter, softened
2 Tbsp minced shallots
1/4 C thyme leaves
1/4 C chopped parsley
2 C brioche bread crumbs
3/4 C diced bone marrow (I couldn’t find any, but I would imagine this would have been even better)
1 tsp salt
sweat shallots in 1 T of butter
add thyme and parsley and mix, cool
combine with bread crumbs and rest of butter
fold in bone marrow and salt
place between 2 sheets of parchment paper and roll til 1/8 in thick
punch into shape of steak
place on top when you flip steak the first time
Leave a Reply

