Week 26 – Pizza

Every week, when I’m bouncing ideas with my friends about what I can do for the next theme, Steve always shouts tacos!  Once I took him serious and so the coffee choco-tacos were born.  This week, I took him half serious and so the Mexizza is born.

The idea behind this was putting a Mexican twist on the pizza.  Instead of pepperoni, I used chorizo.  Tossed the ground beef in a light taco seasoning and roasted onions.  The tomato sauce is made with chili and cumin seasonings and the cheese is a simple 4 mexi-cheese blend.

Since I’ve never made my own dough before, I thought that would be a fun challenge.  As you can see, I did not get the whole round thing going.  I think I might have messed up on the dough and it was way too soft.  I believe, and I quote, “I didn’t pound the dough hard enough.”  I ended up stretching it the best I could and then topping it, which I think I may have put a little too much.

Despite that, it was still delicious!  I think the flavors worked out quite well.

Bonus!  I used the leftovers to make little tortilla pizzas on the stove top the next night.

I used this dough and pizza recipe and this sauce recipe.  For the sauce recipe, I just altered it to be more Mexican flavors (cumin and chili powder) and used diced tomatoes instead of crushed.  Then sauteed the chorizo to render out some of the oil, which I used some to brown the ground beef.

Leave a Reply

