Week 25 – Regional

When you think Georgia, you think peaches…sometimes…right?  Well, when you think Atlanta, you think…traffic! Oh I kid…

Really though, lots of regional things come to mind when you think The South, Georgia, and/or Atlanta.  For this dish, my friends and I thought of Coca-Cola…cupcakes!  Home to the Coca-Cola Company and the World of Coca-Cola, I thought it would be really fun to do something with the soda.

I’ve seen quite a few uses for this soda, from cleaning random things to a soda fountain display with Mentos to a glaze for ham; what can’t this drink do?!  So recently I’ve been working on my baking, trying to broaden my cooking skills, and I thought cupcakes would be a fun way to work on different flavors and ingredients.  I’ve had a Coke cupcake once a long time ago at West Egg and I remember it being fantastic, so I hope mine is close enough.


I’m going to need a piping tool and a case for these things if I keep this up.

Sad note, I wanted to top these cupcakes with a little gummy cola, but couldn’t find any in such short notice.

I also goofed on the frosting so it was too thin.  It looks cool though cause it does make it look like the foam after you pour out a glass.

Cupcakes:

  • 1 cup Coca-Cola (I used the real sugar ones, I love them!)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 4 tbsp. unsalted butter, cut into pieces
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp. plus 1/8  tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2  tsp. salt
  • 1 eggs
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 F.
  2. In a simple double boiler, heat Coca-Cola, cocoa powder, and butter over medium heat until butter is melted.
  3. Add sugars and whisk until dissolved. Remove from heat and let cool.
  4. In a large bowl, whisk flour, baking soda, and salt together.
  5. In a small bowl, whisk egg until just beaten, then whisk them into the cooled cocoa mixture until combined.
  6. Gently stir flour mixture into cocoa mixture.
  7. Pour evenly into lined cupcake tins.
  8. Bake cupcakes for 25 minutes or until inserted toothpick comes out clean.
  9. Allow cupcakes to cool completely before frosting.

Frosting

  • 2 ounces (½ stick) unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 4 ounces cream cheese, at room temperature
  • 2 tbsp. Coca-Cola (I tried using more, don’t do that)
  • 2 cups powdered sugar, sifted
  1. In the bowl beat the butter and cream cheese until light and creamy.
  2. Add the Coca-Cola and beat for an additional minute.
  3. Gradually add the sifted powdered sugar and beat until fully incorporated and smooth.
Leave a Reply

