Week 23 – 20 Minutes or Less

Ready…Set…Go!

20 minutes to make a dish, I feel like I’m on Chopped!  I love that show, I watch it all the time and think about what I would make.  This week, I went with haemul pajeon, a Korean seafood pancake as an appetizer (plus I had most of the things on hand).  Simple enough, you make a batter, toss in some mixed seafoods, shredded carrots, and sliced scallions, and fry it up in some oil.

As you can see, I’ve started to like the 4 grid photo thing, it’s useful.  So if you’re wondering, roughly the first 10 minutes was spent chopping and getting everything mixed up.  The first pancake I flipped too early, so I reflipped it.  The second turned out better as I got the timing down.  Finished just in time!

Pancake

  • Flour (3 parts)
  • Rice flour (1 part)
  • Water (a little under 4 parts)
  • 1 pinch of white pepper
  • shredded carrots (I got the pre-shredded ones to save time)
  • scallions
  • mixed seafood (again, I just got a random frozen bag, saves time and money!)

Sauce

  • Soy sauce (4 parts)
  • rice vinegar (2 parts
  • sesame oil, a few drops
  • scallions, chopped
  • jalopeno (I only used half of one)
Leave a Reply

