Week 22 – Tarts

Since I’ve already made a sweet tart (see week 10), I decided on a savory tart.  I got the creative gears a turnin’ and put together something I thought would taste good.  I don’t know what to call it, so let’s go with: smoked salmon, caramelized onions, and crumbled goat cheese…tart.

A simple dish, the only time consuming part is caramelizing those onions.

Time lapse action shot!  That’s how long they take, I had time to remember to take the photos at different times.

For this dish, I wanted to try to layer the flavors, savory, sweet, savory, sweet, savory.  With the flatbread as a base, I spread a layer of mascarpone and apricot jam mixed together (which turned out delicious mixed together!), and then topped it with smoked salmon, caramelized onions, and finally the goat cheese. Yum!

Ingredients

  • flatbread
  • mascarpone
  • apricot jam/preserve
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • smoked salmon
  • goat cheese, crumbled

Instructions

  1. Warm bread
  2. Mix mascarpone and apricot (I used about a 60% mascarpone to 40% apricot ratio)
  3. Caramelize onions (Add the 1 tbsp of olive oil and slowly cook the onions down)
  4. Top bread with apricot mix, smoked salmon, carmilized onions, and goat cheese
Leave a Reply

