Week 19 – Five Ingredients or Fewer

5 ingredients…fiiiiiiiive ingredients…what am I gonna do?  I had to rack my brains on this one, trying to come up with something I haven’t posted yet and something that I won’t be doing for the upcoming month (since we get a heads up on the themes one month in advance).  While brainstorming over some delicious Greek food with a friend, we decided on deviled eggs.  A simple dish that I’m sure just about everyone can enjoy.

I have always loved deviled eggs, a delicious hard boiled egg, with a creamy, yolky, center…yum!

You can always mix it up a little and add more than the typical ingredients here.  I went the classic route.  If you try these, add a little slice of bacon on top, or a dill pickle.

  • 6 hard boiled eggs, slice them length wise
  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise (I went for light version)
  • 1/2 tsp dry ground mustard (If you don’t have any, you can sub in regular yellow mustard and skip the vinegar too.  Start with 1/2 tsp and adjust it to your taste.)
  • 1/2 tsp white vinegar
  • paprika for garnish
  • a little salt and pepper for taste (I didn’t count this towards the 5 ingredients, as everyone generally has salt and pepper on hand)

A fun tip, after you mix everything together, you can spoon everything into a zip-lock bag, cut the corner and then just pipe the filling into the egg whites.

Leave a Reply

