Week 16 – Asparagus

Due to a little thunderstorm, my kickball game got canceled today.  This means I actually had some time this week to get some cooking in, before the weekend.  This week, I decided on something I’ve read about but I’ve yet to try, risotto!  To go with this week’s theme, asparagus and wild mushroom risotto.

Little story:  I got to meet Alton Brown at a book signing (along with like a million other people).  He is just as funny in person as he is on TV.  So I forget I have like a dozen cooking books sitting on my bookshelf and as I was racking my brain on what to do with asparagus, April suggests going through the Alton Brown book.  That’s where I found this risotto recipe.  The one above is the one from Food Network, which I believe is the same one.


My farmer’s market had green, white, and purple asparagus.  I just decided on getting 2 colors, since the white one would just blend right into the risotto.


Chopped up the asparagus and mushrooms and sauteed them quickly in a little butter.

The risotto took a little longer than I thought it would.  Plan accordingly if you attempt it.

I also just baked some chicken with some seasonings since I could just let that sit in the oven as I was stirring the risotto.

Leave a Reply

