Week 10 – Movie Inspired

Ever since I’ve picked up cooking as a hobby, I like to frequent cooking forums, you know, read some recipes or learn about some new cooking techniques.  Along the way, I’ve learned a lot, and one very important thing is that the more unique ingredients come from the black market. Being movie inspired week, I was hoping to get some unique ingredients: some liquorice wands maybe,  a few dragon steaks, or even a little bit of soylent green.

Well, as my luck would have it, my guy calls me earlier this week about a shipment of snozberries!  I couldn’t believe it!  I’ve heard all about them and I have always wondered what they taste like!

I decided on a homemade snozberry tart, from crust to filling.

So last night, I had to go pick up the berries.  The guy is a little shady, but totally worth it for the ingredients.  I guess he was on his way out or something, he had this purple suit on and a silly little bow tie.  He kept muttering something about being the dreamer of dreams…but I didn’t have time to stay and chat, I had a tart to make.


Pre-berried.  I had to use a pie pan cause I did not have a tart pan.  This worked out just as well.


They happen to come in enough unique shapes, I laid them out so it didn’t look so random.

The tart was delicious, these berries were probably the best berries I have ever had.  What do they taste like you ask?  Why they taste like snozberries, of course.

Mixed Berry (Snozberry) Tart

INGREDIENTS

For Crust
3/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
For Filling
1 (8-ounce) package cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 (10 ounce) package vanilla or white chips, melted and cooled, (optional)
For Topping
Strawberries
Raspberries
Blueberries
(or any berries to your liking!)
For Glaze
2 teaspoons cornstarch
1/2 teaspoon lemon juice
1 (6-ounce) can frozen lemonade concentrate, thawed
1/4 cup granulated sugar

INSTRUCTIONS

For Crust
1. In a small mixing bowl, cream butter and confectioners sugar until light and fluffy.
2. Gradually add flour and mix well.
3. Press into an ungreased 11-in. tart pan with removable bottom or 12-in. pizza pan with sides.
4. Bake at 300 degrees F for 25-30 minutes or until lightly browned.
5. Cool on a wire rack.
For Glaze
1. Combine the lemonade, cornstarch, lemon juice, and sugar in a small saucepan and cook over medium heat until clear and thick, about 2 minutes. Let cool.
For Filling
1. In a small mixing bowl, beat the cream cheese, sugar, and vanilla together until smooth.
2. If you want, brush the inside of the crust with the melted chocolate to create a chocolate layer between the crust and filling.
3. Spread over cooled crust.
4. Refrigerate for 30 minutes.
Assemble the Tart
1. Cut up the strawberries, in half or quarters depending on the size.
2. Take the cooled, filled tart out and place the berries around the tart in a nice fashion.
3. Glaze the top of the tart.
4. Cool back in the fridge again.
One thought on “Week 10 – Movie Inspired

Leave a Reply

