Week 7 – Love Inspired

If you didn’t see this theme coming…  =p

As I sat there racking my brain on what to make: fondue, heart meal, heart-shaped cake, romantic steak dinner for one…I landed on fondue from a few suggestions from the coworkers.  Then I saw some cake pops on a friend’s Facebook page and thought, oh how fun!  I was thinking of combining cake pops and a chocolate fondue.  “That’ll be awesome!” was my grand thought.  So then I looked up how to make these these cake pops.  Here was my thought process: whole cake – ok, whole tub of icing – ok, coat in melted chocolate (or candy) – getting sweet, add that to the dipping of chocolate fondue – too sweet!

Back to square one, until chatting with another friend, who gave me the idea of Oreo pops (thanks Elle!)


I need to work on decorating.  Heart-shaped makes it love right?

So I decided to make them for the coworkers and friends on Thursday for our nightly dinner.  Turns out, they were a bit harder to make and mold than I thought.


Heart shapes are hard to mold!

Coating them was hard too.


I lost 2 of the 3 hearts I made. sad.  I also should have gotten a block of Styrofoam to let them sit in, so they dry with a nice round coating.

I hope everyone enjoys these! Cause really, who hates Oreos on a stick =)

INGREDIENTS

1 package of double stuffed Oreos
8 oz block of cream cheese
1 package of almond bark
1 package of lollipop sticks
food coloring (optional)

INSTRUCTIONS

1. Blend Oreos in a blender or food processor.
2. Dump those crumbs into a bowl.
3. Mix in one block of cream cheese and stir that all together until well blended.
4. Then roll them into balls and put them in the fridge to cool for an hour.
5. Afterwards, melt the almond bark and dip each tip of the lollipop stick in some of the bark before putting them into the Oreo balls. (Note, if you want to coat the balls in different colors, make different batches of the bark and add the food coloring here).
6. Then coat the Oreo balls in the melted almond bark and put back in the fridge for another hour. (Note, save some bark to melt later if you want to add some farther decorations to the outside).
Leave a Reply

