Burger Time With Fries

This is not one of those “create you own burger” dishes where you can choose what cheese, sauce, toppings and bread you get with your burger.  This is your simple double cheese burger with pickles, some light mustard (I think…it was light enough that it did not bother me) and a toasted sesame bun…dripping with a little bit of grease.  The fries were a little fancy, but they just sounded so good that I couldn’t pass them up. It was a good call on my part, I cleaned up my dish!

Burger and fries
Two freshly ground thin patties are griddle-cooked, giving the edges alluring crispy bits. Oozing, melting American cheese and a pillowy soft bun render a supremely squishable burger with just the right amount of grease to make it naughty. It’s like someone with an intimate knowledge of the McDonald’s double cheeseburger made the quality, grown-up version. Someone supersize me. SHOUT-OUT: Cauliflower and eggplant sandwich.

Now this burger was delicious, just like anyone who can make a great classic burger, but if you’re a decent restaurant, and you serve burgers, it’s probably really hard for you to mess that up.  Just like my last post about the tofu soup being standard, making a classic cheeseburger is pretty standard too.  No need to go super fancy with like Kobe beef and topping it with truffles and fancy cheese, just the basics are enough.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m sure what I just said is great, but then can you really call it a classic cheeseburger?  So then, you must be wondering what makes a classic cheeseburger so greasy and delcious?

Well, me and my fellow foodies thought the same thing and came to the conclusion that burgers are more of a memory food.  What’s that mean?  It’s like an association of a food with a memory.  So in this case, they had a great memory tied to eating a basic burger, and thus that burger was amazing.  Because of that great memory, all other burgers, as along as they’re close enough, will be just as great, if not better, because you will always remember it being so good that it gets better every time.  I don’t know if that made sense…I guess it’s really hard to put into words what I was thinking.  If you get the idea though, then this is me saying, “YES!  That’s it!”

I’ll let them tell their story if they want in the comments.

I wanted to do the shout-out too as an appetizer, splitting it with the people I was with, but they only offer that for lunch.  Oh well, another time.

Bocado
887 Howell Mill Road
Atlanta, GA 30318

Burger Bonus!  A friend of mine ordered AND finished a Triple Coronary Bypass from Vortex!


THE TRIPLE CORONARY BYPASS (aka THE SUPER STACK)
Made with two half-pound Vortex sirloin patties stacked inside three grilled cheese sandwiches, topped with two fried eggs, eight slices of American cheese, ten slices of bacon and plenty of mayo on the side. With this burger we choose your side for you, and it’s a big bowl of fries and tots covered in our cheesy-cheese goo.  This super-stack is a heart attack waiting to happen. Enjoy! (No lettuce, tomato or onion)

One thought on “Burger Time With Fries

  1. Re: Burger Philosophy:

    It’s a pretty standard thing. When has anyone ever had a burger at some restaurant that could top a burger they had during a Memorial day grill-out with friends. Is a Kobe beef burger with arugula on a lightly toasted kaiser roll better than a Publix pre-cut patty with ketchup and a Miller High Life? A burger is as good as the company it’s with.

Leave a Reply

