It’s Gravy, Not Sauce

It’s been a while since I’ve done a list restaurant and I’m sorry about that!  I promise they’ll pick back up this week, by the weekend the latest!

For now, a travel entry, which I hope to do more often.  These will be entries of the food I get to experience when I’ve gone outside my Atlanta home.  First up NY/NJ!  I was up there a few weeks ago visiting some friends and taking a mini vacation and so of course that means it had to be the hottest weekend ever, triple digits the whole time!  That didn’t stop us from venturing around and getting some delicious foods.  The day of my arrival was the start of an Italian street festival.  This could not have worked out any better as I LOVE Italian food.  I mean, LOOOOVE it, sooooo much!  We’ll get to that in a minute, first up, pastries.

Rodrigo brought me these from Teixeira bakery when I first met him and he either knew these were the best and no one could not like them, or he knew I am a big fan of custard things.  In this case, he was right on both accounts, they were wonderful!  The custard was not too sweet and the crust was not all super dry and flaky.  It was a perfect start to my vacation =)

This little treat was the start to the Italian festival.  There’s something to be said about the pizza from New York/New Jersey, and its true, it’s hard to find a pizza that tastes like it anywhere else (in Atlanta at least).  Made from a stone oven outside in the crazy heat, this pizza was so simple yet so good.  Soft dough with a crunch on the bottom, light sauce, and then just fresh mozzarella and basil on top, yum.  My other pizza experience involved looking for a pizza place and the fact that on the 5 or so blocks we had to walk to the train station, we stopped by 5 difference places because we could be that picky (quite cool).  Danielle and I ended up by a place close to her home because it had what we wanted.  I was quite hungry by then and was thinking about ordering 3 slices of pizza, as that’s a good amount here in most pizza places in Atlanta.  It was a good thing I decided to start with two, as these slices were huge and I actually couldn’t finish all of it.  I want you to click on the link here so you can see the full size picture I took.

It’s getting late for me and this is turning into a long post.  I think I’ll continue this tomorrow as a part 2 so it’s not a tiring read for my readers out there.

::fist pump::  =p

Good Night!

Leave a Reply

