All About the Steak

Even though this will be a 2 for 1, this trip was all about the steak.  We’ll get to that in a minute though, let’s get the drink out of the way =p

Also, I need to stop posting these around dinner time when I’m killing time.  I get so much more hungry as I recap these meals!

Rye Manhattan
The Manhattan, or versions of it, is everywhere these days. But go to Bones for the most classic, most perfectly executed version around. Dry, balanced, crisp, cold — drinking like an old man never tasted so good.

Another drink that I was unfamiliar with but ordered none the less!  I will say that I liked this one more than the dirty martini, most likely because this was a bit sweeter…and it had cherries instead of olives, a plus in my book.  Now, never having a Manhattan before, I couldn’t tell you if this tastes like the “classic” one, but I can tell you it tasted like whiskey….or bourbon, which ever one they used.  If you can’t tell by now, I’m not a whiskey, bourbon, or scotch connoisseur.

And now, the main attraction: (I apologize for the poor picture, but I didn’t want to use my flash)

Rib-eye
Pure meat nirvana: blood, fat and tang come together in one hulking slab of flesh. Get it with some sweet and fluffy corn pudding and creamed spinach (which isn’t on the menu, but they’ll make it on request) and you’ll feel the virile thrill of the manliest meal in town.

O.M.G…….just….it…..SO.GOOOOOOOD.

That’s what I was like when I finished that thing and there was nothing left but that bone piece you see there at the end.  When I scanned through this list, and saw rib-eye on there, I was ecstatic.  Not only is the rib-eye my favorite cut, but it was the choice from Bones, a restaurant that I have been told by numerous people, serves the best steak in town.  Now, I haven’t been everywhere around town and tried every rib-eye, but this was the best one *I’ve* ever had so far!

No steak sauce needed here (I used to use steak sauce AND get it well-done…..I’ve come a long way).  Medium-rare for me.  Slicing into that slab of meat, that first cut, the perfect mix of fat and meat, mopping up the “sauce” on the plate, and then shoving it in my mouth, THAT was the manliest thing I did that day.  Every bite was “meat nirvana.”

Oh and the sides were an excellent suggestion!

Bones
3130 Piedmont Road
Atlanta, GA. 30305

Leave a Reply

