No Colonel

Sorry for the MIA, I’ve been a bit busy with work and Infamous 2 =p

A little catch up – some fried chicken from a nice little place close by.

Fried chicken
Some things must be eaten for the same reason certain movies must be seen — because they are classic. The Colonnade has been serving gigantic portions of batter-fried chicken since 1927. It’s super-crispy, steaming-hot, juicy and served in a dining room full of gays and greys by servers with major mother complexes.

This restaurant came as quite the surprise as I thought the description might be exaggerating a bit, but nope, it was dead on…about the chicken and the place.  First, the chicken was scrumptious (read that was a nice southern accent) with some really good sides (sorry! not pictured).  I feel like if you want some good southern cooking, this would be a good place for that.  The chicken came out piping HOT and I had to let it cool before I could dig into it.  Once I did though, I couldn’t stop.  It had just the right amount of batter and crisp to it, no extra thick layer of fried batter.  The chicken was super moist, it almost felt wrong dipping it in hot sauce.

Second, I think the atmosphere of this was fun, like right out of a movie scene.  I did feel a little out of place, as mentioned above, most of the dining hall was filled with older, gay gentlemen.  I say movie scene cause when I picture that phrase, I think old, grey haired guys, in shorts and Hawaiian or a polo/button shirt with top 2 buttons unbuttoned…and this was exactly what it was!

Stay tuned for lots of updates! I might make 2-3 more posts tomorrow!

The Colonnade
1879 Cheshire Bridge Rd NE
Atlanta, GA 30324-4923

Leave a Reply

