First 2 For 1

Knocked out a dish and a drink.  As you’ll see, it was candle lit, so it’s a little hard to see.

Dirty Martini
Ice cold and acutely classy, this is the martini made right. The clear, piercing liquid comes in a large martini glass with three fat, quality olives.


As you can see, I only got two olives =p

Steak tartar
There’s something magical that happens with the best steak tartar, an alchemy that turns high-quality raw beef into a creamy wonder. Punctuated by shallots and capers, and topped with a gooey raw egg yolk, this paragon of protein is pure pleasure.

Remember how I mentioned there were a handful of things I didn’t like…well, you’re about to learn a few more.  If you’re keeping track, you can add olives and horseradish to the list.  With that in mind, I still ordered the dirty martini, determined to try it, in case my  tastes have changed, and the tartar had horseradish in it, which I did not know.

With olives, I do not like black ones, but the green ones I’ve recently tried in cooking and thought they were pretty good.  Same goes for this martini.  I’m not a martini drinker, I’ve tried them here and there before, and most of the time, I didn’t like them, so by now, I don’t order them.  Even so, this martini was not as bad as I thought it would be.  The vodka was smooth, the olive juice blended nicely; all and all, I enjoyed the drink with my meal.

The second, horseradish, was in the tartar, which made me a little sad since I love tartar.  So once I got past the horseradish taste, it was a most delectable appetizer.  You take that egg yolk, mix it up with the beef, then take a glob of the creamy goodness and spread it on the crispy bread slices.  YUM!

Kevin Rathbun Steak
154 Krog Street – Ste 200
Atlanta, Georgia 30307

Leave a Reply

