That Numbing Sensation

I know I mentioned trying at least 1 a week, and I already failed last week!  Have no fear though, I have gone ahead and did 2 already; 1 last night, and 1 this morning! So you can expect another post tomorrow probably.

First up, some eggplant:

Dry fried eggplant
People will debate: Is it what it used to be? Is it as good as it once was? Is it is it is it? We’ll tell you what it is: delicious. The thick french-fry-like, battered and fried sticks of eggplant have gone through a few incarnations, but the current one is as good as it comes. Crispy on the outside, creamy and piping-hot in the middle, and showered with cilantro, red pepper flakes and Szechuan peppercorns that leave your tongue all abuzz and your water tasting like seltzer.

picture courtesy of Kelly’s phone because I need to start carrying my little point n’ shoot everywhere so that if I happen to end up at one of these restaurants, I can document it! =p

That description is pretty much dead on, I don’t think I could have said it better myself.  Now I’m one for spicy food, I love it, and I can tolerate a good deal of heat, but these packed quite the kick!  Of course it may have all been the fact that all 4 of us that were dining ordered a spicy dish, and we really under estimated the amount of heat that would be. By the end of the meal, I had beads of sweat rolling down my head and a mouth begging for some ice cream to cool it off.

Now as delicious as these eggplants were, I felt that they didn’t belong as a main dish.  I kind of felt weird eating fried sticks of eggplant with my steamed rice and twice-cooked pork (which btw, I love this dish and will pretty much get it anywhere).  I think if you cut the amount in half and add it as an appetizer, it would fit in perfectly.

A sublime sweet is next!

Tasty China
585 Franklin Road
Marietta, GA 30067

Leave a Reply

